Some people sat that it is a good idea to socialise with work colleagues during evenings and/or weekends. Other people think it is important to keep working life completely separate from social life. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Proponents believe that being extra-friendly with co-workers in our free time is a beneficial idea whereas opponents argue that we should completely differentiate our office relations and our social relations. In my view of thinking, interacting socially with work colleagues is good for making a workplace a happy place. However, sometimes being over-friendly with fellow staff creates some ethical issues with the disciplinary guidelines of the organisation. On the one hand, making some good friends makes our lives easy in many aspects. Specifically, at offices, where many individuals spend their duty hours of the day, we need a stress-free environment. Therefore, it is a good step to socialise with our subordinates during possible hours like evenings or weekends. Good tuning between the job team is always beneficial for the outcome they produce, A TV9 survey in March 2023, for instance, proved that the social interaction between officemates is useful for boosting the quality of tasks they do together. On the other hand, some issues related to mingling with company colleagues have been reported at many organisations. To be more specific, over-friendly relations between officemates may cause the likelihood of favouring someone all the time regardless of his/her capabilities over other hard-working fellow staff. Moreover, few employees may pressure their managers for benefits such as salary hikes, promotions or ease of duty. Hence, it is said that work-life must not get mixed up with our regular life. For example, in my first company, a senior manager was fired from his position on account of favouring his friend for onsite opportunities. To conclude, admittedly, an office place should be a happening place to produce more and more quality outcomes and this can be achieved through bonding well with colleagues regularly. Still, there are some risks associated with it if not kept within limits.