Fast food is now universally in most countries and is becoming increasingly popular. Some feel that this is a positive trend, while others do not. What are your opinion in this?

In recent years, the popularity of fast food has been significantly increased in the world. Debates on whether this is a good or bad tendency has been a controversial topic. However, I strongly believe that the drawbacks of fast food outweigh its benefits. It is an undeniable fact that the presence of junk food has greatly benefited people in some ways. Firstly, fast food is considerably time-saving and convenient. It is common that nowadays we could easily find fast food stores in almost everywhere of big cities. As a result, workers and students could save a huge time when they have junk food instead of cooking by themselves at home. Secondly, eating fast food is much cheaper than traditional foods so it could help people set their money back. On the other hand, fast foods are made up of a high proportion of unhealthy ingredients such as unsaturated fats, oil, sugar and salt. Frequent consumption of these will cause obesity and health problems, including fatty liver, high blood pressure and high cholesterol levels. In addition, fast foods have very low nutritional value and do not fulfil the requirements of a moderate diet. Hence, constant intake of fast foods may cause a nutritional deficiency in the long term. For example, according to a recent survey, the rate of obesity has drastically boosted in America due to the habit of eating too much fast food of the locals. Another reason is that more and more people are interested in western food has threatened traditional foods. It is evident that modern families prefer eating junk foods over the traditional meals in their daily meals. In conclusion, I strongly argue that despite benefiting the community in a short term, fast food ’s long-term effects are generally negative.