It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Learning the difference between right and wrong at an early age is vital for juveniles. Some people think penalties are essential to help them learn moral standards. This essay disagrees with the idea because parents and teachers can use other ways to teach appropriate conduct to toddlers. There are two crucial reasons to substantiate my support with the given statement. First, disciplinary methods that inflict physical pain may stimulate aggressiveness and traumatize the children as young kids tend to mimic their family members’ behaviours. For example, in households that use violence for behavioural modifications, infants will grow up with the understanding that violence is the best way to solve problems. In the future, the children will become more likely to resort to violence to deal with problematic situations, which may even lead to them committing crimes. Moreover, those who have been traumatized by harsh punishments during childhood may have difficulty trusting others as well as blending in with society. For instance, most adults who suffer from depression had a traumatizing experience in their early years, including but not limited to beating, detention, or scolding. Secondly, physical punishment damages the relationship between parents and children. It may cause youths to associate violence with their parents. As a result, Kids may try to avoid parents at all costs. In addition, they will not seek their parents ’ consultation and turn to other people such as friends instead. While pupils still have to be taught what is right and what is wrong, there are alternatives to violence -oriented correctional approaches: being a role model for the children and communicating with them using reasons. To start, adults should provide good examples, including spending time with their children to establish and strengthen the bond. The time spent can also be used to provide examples of what pupils should or should not do. Another way is talking to them with reasons. Generally speaking, young children ’s unwanted behaviours are based on their simple urges such as wanting to play, wanting snacks, or not wanting to do homework. Instead of physically punishing them, parents may choose to negotiate or bargain with them using reasons. For example, when your baby wants to have cookies before the meal, you may negotiate with the baby, offering more cookies after the meal as opposed to fewer cookies now. To conclude, despite the fact that penalties are one of the most commonly used disciplinary approaches when kids do something wrong, it does not ensure that kids will learn and be able to distinguish what is wrong or right at an early age. Using examples and reasons is a much better measure for parents to teach their offspring.