The media, especially the television is failing to represent the world in its true light. As a consequence, the younger generation is growing up in a fantasy world with a false conception of their surroundings. Present your argumentation to highlight your opinion on this matter. Give reasons and specific examples to support your opinions.

It is advocated that the mass media, namely television, has failed in its attempt to reflect the world for what it truly is. Therefore, our successor is maturing in a fictional world with an inaccurate perception of their surroundings. From my perspective, I voice disapproval of the aforementioned, in that I believe it is rather one-sided by putting the label on all individuals, which is in fact not the case. In the first place, in a world where social media is predominant, strict laws and regulations on authorized content are, obviously, imposed in the interests of the public's mentality and orientation. In other words, official news sources and TV stations are under the influence of censorship, thus compromising the reliability and accuracy of the information published. For instance, such broadcasting houses of great integrity as CNN or BBC News are known as being trustworthy due to their independence from external political and commercial forces. What is more, it is undeniable that humans in the modern generation have evolved to be more knowledgeable and self-conscious; hence, they are mature enough to form a clear conception of their surroundings without any domineering factors. In particular, should any widespread information be fallacious, most people would not hesitate to take a stand against it, as long as it has been brought home to them. For example, as a feature on many channels or even YouTube, users could report any programmes containing misleading or obscene content in order to eradicate misinformation. Nevertheless, there exist several exceptions when news is controlled for specific purposes. As an illustration, so as not to arouse the public's bafflement and worries, very sensitive political matters are kept secret without anyone's acknowledgement. Furthermore, a few publishers are also pro-government, whose series and broadcasts steer towards the only bright side of the authorities. All things considered, while there appear to be some problems with social media as regards politics and military issues, most publishing houses fulfil their duty in providing viewers with accurate and detailed information on current affairs. Consequently, I do not support the above-mentioned view which claims that media has not succeeded in reflecting reality.