Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, It is argued that supermarkets should sell only local products instead of imports from other countries. In this essay, I am going to explain the reason why I strongly disagree with the statement and then I will give some examples. Firstly, I believe that international commerce has recently improved thanks to the development of new ways of moving products. In fact, in modern society, we can buy every kind of food which is grown, for example, on the other side of the World and this is caused by the efficiency in the food chain. Moreover, I think that supermarkets have to sell these kinds of products in order to offer a variety of food and for creating a balanced diet for customers. By contrast, others argued that big labels should sell only products produced in their own country due to the fact that it can improve and raise the revenue of national companies as a consequence that there will be an increase in the economy. Although some people believe that it is important to consume only national food, I believe that international trading could be essential for the country in light of the fact that it can export its typical products and increase the profit for local companies. In conclusion, several citizens think that it is important to eat local food and supermarkets must sell only national products, on the contrary, I believe that it is essential to have the possibility to chose whatever we want while we are buying in markets and also international trading is a great opportunity for developing the country’s economy.