Some people feel that public money should not be spent on cultural amenities such as museums, theatres and art festivals. How important do you think these things are to society as a whole? Are there any areas which are more important for the government

Nowadays there is ongoing debate about the use of public money for cultural amenities with certain people opposing this practice. Personally, I feel that government budget should be allocated for museums, theatres and art festivals and I will explain why. Firstly, supporters of cultural heritage claim that cultural facilities are of paramount importance to unite society. By this, they mean that art festivals, for example, gather a large group of citizens, creating a harmonious society and strengthening individual sense of belonging and intercultural understanding. In addition, cultural activities appear to attract many local and international tourists and generate income for the country. For instance, a historical city like Malacca, Malaysia is a place that receives millions of visitors per year. Tourism is in fact, the major financial contributor for the state. Tourists wanted to witness the rich cultural heritage as the result of different colonisations thousands of years back by visiting the museums. Finally, those who support cultural amenities insist on the importance of cultural preservation for education. Cultural heritage promotes creativity, and innovation and the moral values that can be learned from the past are invaluable for the younger generation to instil within themselves. I do appreciate that some people think differently saying it is better to spend money on more important amenities such as public schools or hospitals. While these are essential to the country, of course, I feel this is an unwise opinion considering the benefits that cultural amenities might bring. Overall I believe that cultural heritage needs to be preserved based on the fact that it serves as a national identity, improves unity and fosters economic growth.