It's generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for music and sport, and others are not. However, it's sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that some people are born with innate abilities in science, sports or music. A segment of society is convinced that inborn talents can determine whether a child can become a good sportsman or a musician. I do not agree with this opinion because I believe that with regular practice and determination anyone can achieve success. The following paragraphs will discuss both points of view before making a final note. To commence with, undoubtedly, people born with certain talents have a headstart over others. It is relatively easier for them to acquire proficiency. Take, for example, Mozart. He could compose music at the age of 6. However, inborn talents do not mean ultimate success as Albert Einstein said, "Genius is 1% of talent and 99% of hard work". Consequently, innate abilities only make it easier to succeed in certain fields like sports and music. On the other hand, hard work and determination can make a man perfect. Anyone can be proficient if they do the same thing day by day. This is because someone regularly practising will always be better than someone else who rarely does. People can learn a lot from their mistakes and better themselves each time. For instance, a friend of mine did not have any innate music skills. But she desperately wanted to play the guitar and used to spend hours mastering it. Now she is one of the best guitarists in Samarkand. To conclude, giftedness does not guarantee success. Gifted people have a relatively easier path to gain proficiency. Only determination, practice and hard work can make anyone perfect in anything.