Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

There are myriad of issues caused due to soaring number of inhabitants in the cities. In this essay, remedies taken in this direction by the government to ameliorate the problems will be explicated. The first and foremost trouble caused by the surging population is the exploitation of natural resources. In other words, to meet the demands of a growing number of dwellers there will be strenuous pressure on the higher authorities. As a result of this, to accommodate the people there will be vandalism of forests and non-renewable sources of energy. Apart from this, there will be a hike in the unemployment rate eventually, leads to rise in criminal activities. For example, in, metropolitan cities the illicit tasks are performed more than in the countryside or small urban areas. Thus, lack of job opportunities and high crime rate are one of the major concerns due to the higher population. Certainly, to mitigate the problems officials should develop the adjacent areas of cities to accommodate the migrants. Not only this but alternative sources of energy should be promoted for the utilization rather than fossil fuels. Moreover, to control the birth rate government should implement a policy of only having two children and aware the public of the repercussions of having more children through awareness campaigns, seminars and talks. However, upliftment of the employment sector also solves the menace of crime in a community. Therefore, opting for eco-friendly modes coupled with birth control can curb the issue to a great extent. In compendium, deforestation, unemployment and the rise of crime are some troubles that can be overcome by controlling the birth rate and generating work opportunities.