Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons behind this view? What are the solutions to change it?

One school of thought holds that global tourism negatively affects the nation. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this problem before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it. There are two primary reasons why the locals consider that worldwide tourism harms their nation. Firstly, it could cause the loss of biodiversity. For example, a variety of forests would be cut down to make way for tourism infrastructure, such as hotels, restaurants, and airports, which might destroy the habitats of numerous wild animals and lead to the extinction of thousands of species. Secondly, the quality of life within the local community might be reduced due to overseas visitors. In fact, the more foreigners visit that place, the more cars will be used to serve them, thereby increasing the number of exhaust fumes and worsening air pollution, eventually contributing to serious diseases, such as lung cancer or respiratory infection. To combat this worrying issue, the following essential steps should be taken. One remedy is that authorities should cooperate with biologists to make suitable plans to build tourism facilities. This is because when working together, they could not only make an environmentally friendly project that prevents excessive deforestation but also give alternative methods to protect the fauna and flora, and this could lead to green tourism. Furthermore, the governing bodies should pass radical laws to limit the use of automobiles. To be more specific, they could raise taxes on vehicles using fossil fuels as well as decrease taxes on electric cars while providing more public transport, such as buses and trains, and this could greatly mitigate the problem of air pollution. In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative tendency, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this issue.