Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socializing online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's modern world, the mode of communication has changed dramatically for young people than in the past. Most teenagers enjoy socializing online rather than meeting in person. In my opinion, an increase in technology can be one of the main reasons for the current trend. This essay will argue why they prefer online platforms and what measures can be taken to discourage them from doing this. It is true that the youth nowadays prefer meeting their friends online. The main reason behind this action is the sudden escalation in technological advancement. Social medial platforms like Facebook, Instagram, Youtube are being used massively by many teenagers. Moreover, they believe that it will probably save their time and energy for travelling from one place to other. To give a quintessential example, in the current covid-19 pandemic, the usage of online applications for meetup has increased by ten per cent which is a significant rise. Therefore, young people love to socialize online with others. On the contrary, some critics are of the belief that teenagers should be encouraged to meet their friends in person. Firstly, parents can arrange picnics or play dates for their young offspring. Secondly, they might explain the benefits of socializing in person. For an instance, teenagers can have their meals together, play outdoor games and discuss interesting topics if parents inspire them to meet face to face. To illustrate, a recent study shows that the youth, who hang out with their friends in person, is likely to create a strong and emotional bond. Besides, this might develop lifelong friendships. Hence, teenagers could be encouraged to meet in person. In conclusion, although young people have been inclined to use online social media platforms, parents can play an important role in encouraging them to meet one another in person. In my opinion, schools and parents may work together to motivate them by developing some group activities or field trips.