Although there is a lot of software available today that can translate from one language to another, it is still necessary for people to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to globalization, the importance and popularity of web-based language translation applications have grown over the past few years. Despite the availability of language translation software, foreign language learning is still necessary. I completely agree with this statement, and in this essay, I will discuss the apparent benefits that natural translators have over Artificial Intelligence. Firstly, language is closely related to a country's culture. Through language study, students can know the culture of a nation. For example, if you study English, you can learn many things about English literature, English poetry, English festivals and English customs. Suppose we give a poem by Shakespeare for translation; we can imagine how ridiculous the translation would be. In addition, translation software discourages further interaction. For example, if a tourist asks a local for directions using a translation tool, the local would probably say nothing more than the directions since most people do not like communicating with a machine. By contrast, appliances cannot convey the manner of speakers. If the speaker says in different tones like surprisingly, sarcastically or delightedly, the device will not express people's emotions. When face-to-face communication, we can understand people judging from their expressions, body gestures and so on, even if we do not use many words. But machines cannot do this. In conclusion, translation machines help us somehow, but it doesn't mean that we can quit studying a second language. A mechanical interpreter will never take the place of our human beings as a translator or an interpreter because human beings decide their ability.