Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, most celebrities are more known for their glamorous lifestyles rather than their achievements. Thus, a segment of society is convinced that these celebrities become bad role models to the younger generation. I personally do not agree with this opinion because they have little or no impact on our lives. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence with, a celebrity's job is to entertain people and not to set a moral example. It is clear to everyone that stars are not teachers, they are not objects to worship. Therefore, children and adults understand that the luxury lifestyles they depict are only for entertainment purposes. Take, for example, Lady Gaga. She is known for her extravagant outfits and glamorous lifestyle. However, it does not mean that her fans will take her as a role model. This is because people, even the younger ones, perceive celebrities through the prism of their culture and surroundings. Adding further, children are more influenced by the people they are surrounded with. To be more specific, the major influencers are teachers, parents and friends. So if a child has friends or family members having a luxury lifestyle, then he or she will be inclined to glamour. As a result, they will be interested in videos about the glamorous lifestyles of stars. For example, my friends at school were more interested in studying and travelling. Thereby, I had no interest in the lifestyle of celebrities, I did not even know about them. To conclude, I believe that celebrities do not set a negative example for younger people. Children may be inclined to glamorous lifestyles as a result of their friends ' influence.