In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything they want if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is considered by some people that children should be reminded that they can get whatever they place their mind on if they work hard. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of this view. To begin with, some individuals think that telling children about achieving their goals if they try hard enough is a positive trend because it makes them strive for the best relentlessly. That is, when youngsters grow up with this mindset, they tend to be less discouraged by setbacks and work hard to get the goal. A real-life example is the former president of Nigeria, Professor Good luck Jonathan who said that from his childhood he has always been told that he can be a leader if he wants and because of his perseverance, he got to the top. Therefore, it is good for children to be constantly told about their dreams and the role of hard work. On the other hand, a disadvantage of this trend is that youngsters put themselves under unnecessary pressure in the quest to attain their goals. That is to say, having the mindset that hard work brings, they tend to think they are not trying enough when they are unsuccessful hence, they become pressured and this leads to them going into various unhealthy means to get success. For example, youths these days are told that with hard work, one is supposed to become a millionaire and because they haven't become one at a ripe age, they go into cybercrime in other to live up to their expectations. This means that making kids grow with that thought may be harmful to themselves and to society at large. To conclude, passing the message to children that they can achieve whatever they want by working hard is good because it makes them strive more, although, this can turn out to be a drawback when kids get pressured and venture into immoral acts.