News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

It is opined that news stories telecasted on television and printed on newspapers are more attractive by pictures rather than words. On the whole, I agree to this statement to a great extent with certain reservation, as mentioned in the following paragraphs. To commence with, pictures attract the people more than the words. Nowadays, people watch or read only those news which are attractive to their eyes. It helps in building the interest of viewer or reader, leading to watching or reading that particular story till the end. Moreover, pictorial representation help the viewers to retain that particular story for a longer time in comparison to the written story. Much details can be provided by a single picture as comparison to huge number of words. The exact situation can be presented through a picture only, whereas there will be a lot of requirement of words to depict the approximate image of the event. For instance, situation of a terrorist attack can be better shown through a picture rather than in words. Moreover, picture news story helps in saving the time of viewer. Nowadays, people do not have much time to read news story, thus, they prefer to watch it through the means of picture and video, which saves their time. It will be more useful as major portion of population will watch this and can learn from this. On the other hand, some people do find reading news story as effective as it can provide much detail of the event happened before and after. As pictures cannot be used more often, it may lack many useful information. Also, some of the events cannot be pictorically historically depicted. For instance, government has taken a decision related to finance, this story can only be shared with public through words, and not through picture Change the form of the verb pictures show examples. Therefore, I would like to conclude that most of the news stories are now covered through pictures, which also helps population at a wider scale to imagine the event and retain it for a longer period. However, some of the events require words to provide detailed information to audience.