Many students today may study abroad for a part or for all of their course. Although studying abroad has many benefits for the individual student, it also has a number of disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Higher education in abroad universities is a growing trend nowadays. Many people believe that overseas education has its disadvantages. Although the foreign study is not advisable for some people with personal and financial problems, I agree it is a great deal of experience for others. Studying in a foreign country has a number of benefits. One can experience the immersion in a culture that leads to the development of interpersonal and professional skills. Students meet native speakers and they tend to practice their listening and speaking skills on an everyday basis which poses a great improvement in their linguistics. Additionally, they get a chance to meet several people which will later turn into some useful professional contacts. For instance, A recommendation from a well-reputed person from abroad adds weightage to our resume professionally when we try to bag an opportunity in a multi-national firm. Like two sides of a coin, overseas education also has its dark side. Some financially unstable people suffer a lot to adjust to the economic culture of the country. Change of food cuisines also affects most of the immigrated students which results in some serious health issues. Moreover, when students fly from their hometown to abroad for studies, they experience a culture shock which pushes them into depression and anxiety. Many studies have cited that over 30% of Indian who fly abroad experience a culture shock and returns after discontinuing their education. In conclusion, overseas education is a very good platform for professional development as we get a lot of professional contacts in the country but at the same time, one should pre-assess themselves whether they can sustain all the difficulties that a different country poses on them.