Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Write an essay expressing your point of view

There is always a debate about what to do in leisure time. Some segment of the population believes that it is very important to use this time doing some brain-building activities whereas, some belief to rest their mind whenever, they get some leisure time. I believe, that it’s important to rest the mind during break time. However, I also believe that it can be beneficial for the individual to indulge in some activities such as reading or doing word puzzles. Doing some brain-building activities during free time can help in changing focus, which in return boost the creativity and can help one to look at a problem from a different point of view. This is simply because while doing some puzzles or reading, we completely switch off the part of the brain which we were using to solve problems prior to the break. So, after break time, when we try to solve the problem, we look at the problem from a whole different view, which in turn helps in solving the problem more quickly. I remember during my engineering years, I was stuck in a project trying to build an algorithm to segregate a big database. However, I was feeling stuck so during break time, I and one of my friends decided to play a small puzzle game, after the break when I went back to solve the task. I relooked the algorithm, from a new point of view, as I understand what I did prior to taking a break, and I was able to solve the segmentation problem easily after that using a new point of view. On the other hand, Relaxing during leisure time is also equally valuable. It’s because when someone starts a task or problem with a fresh mind they can easily give a lot of concentration and can contain a lot of information in their mind which they can use to solve the problem quickly. For instance, during exam time, I always use to make sure that I get enough sleep of 8 hours to keep a fresh mind. Which I used to use during my exam. It used to help me a lot as while writing it was easy for me to remember the values in the question for a longer period of time. In conclusion, I believe that people should be maintaining a balance of what to do in their leisure time as I think that doing both resting your mind as well as doing some task such as word puzzles or reading can be beneficial for the individual.