Computers are being used more and more in education and so there will soon be no role for the teacher in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the internet reaching every device, from smartphones to laptops, it is inevitable that technology will impact every area of our lives, including education. Many think, in fact, that computers are impressively impacting the world of school and university, leading to the progressive disappearance of the role of teachers. In this essay, I will explain why I totally agree with this view. It is undeniable that the advent of computers is changing education. The main claim of the supporters of this view is that the internet can supply an immensely larger amount of information and data than any school textbook can ever provide. Furthermore, I recognize that information provided on the net is always up to date and accessible everywhere. For example, the only tool needed to read any kind of books or any up-to-date news is a laptop and internet connection. A further reason behind the informatic revolution of education is the possibility to access school comfortably from home. During the 2019 Covid pandemic, for instance, computers were the only mean to keep education going, while permitting to adopt all the social distancing policies. It is therefore undeniable that high-tech devices like computers are completely changing the way education works. In this scenario, teachers will inevitably lose their prominent role. First of all, automated software is being developed that can help young students learn even the most difficult tasks. Recently, I read that the first robotic lesson ever has already been attended by a class of Chinese university students in Beijing in 2018, to name but one example of how professors are losing their importance. Moreover, through multimedia devices, it is possible to play on-demand audio and video lessons thus reducing the need for in-person classes, that is to say, the necessity of having a teacher hold a lecture. If a student, to give an example, could just have his whole history course on his laptop, to be held comfortably at home, why would he ever want to attend classes in person? In conclusion, computers are taking over the world of discipline and school and university, while more advanced software will replace teachers in the learning process. In this essay, I explained why I completely agree that this will be possible in the very next future.