One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the human’s lifespan is expected to be higher than usual, due to the advance in health care services. However, this trend may lead to both positive and negative sides which will be illustrated more in the following paragraphs. On one hand, the longer life one has, the better things are coming after. Generally, people retire when they are in their 60s or mid-50s which means if they can live long to their 90s, they will be able to spend years with their younger ones. For instance, in adult life, we can’t spend our time with one another that much because of the duties that we have to fulfil. Therefore, when our parents are retired, we are likely to spend our leisure time with them and take care of them thoroughly. On the other hand, the greying society is not beneficial to the nation. Having too many retired adults may lead the medical care into chaos if the majority are having chronic diseases. We can’t deny that the older we are, the more chances and risks we have to be endured with all the sicknesses. Consequently, the country will eventually need to have more nursing homes and medical assistants in order to take care of their old citizens. For example, In Japan, the ageing population is rising rapidly that leaves so much concern to the government because of the longevity of people’s lives and the lower rates of birth. To sum up, the ability to live longer is a blessed that everyone wants to have, but it still gives some drawbacks in some cases. Nevertheless, it is clear that the increase in life expectancy is no doubt giving more advantages than disadvantages in every circumstance.