If people go to live in another country they should follow the customs and traditions of the new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The way immigrants adapt to the traditions of a new country is a matter that always arises some levels of discussion. While many people believe the newcomers should strictly follow local customs, others deny any sort of moral obligation and support the idea of cultural diversity. In my opinion, as long as there is mutual respect there is no reason to force foregins foreigners to obey all the local rules. From dressing codes to home-made meals, there are hundeds of aspects that are involved in a country's cultural inheritage. If someone goes to live abroad, adapting to local rules can be a challenge. However, for many citizens it is important that everyone respects their culture, specially when it comes to religion and morality. For example, in islamic countries it can be inmensly intensely insulting for a woman to show her heir, shoulders or knees. Therefore, when it comes to public spaces, it is important to respect the rules no matter what the personal background is. On the other hand, immigration is quite a sensible phenomenon and people who leave their countries need to maintain their own traditions as they constitute a pillar of their identity. For instance, it is common to see how foreigs foreigners look for compatriots to share meals or spend special holidays together. This is a way of keeping their culture alive even though they are not anymore in their home country. As long as there is mutual respect between everyone, there is no reason to believe why different traditions should not coexist in peace. In conclusion, cultural diversity is a challenge that face not only newcomers of a country but also the local community. Respecting the most sensible aspects of the nation's culture is something immigrants should have in mind, but their right to follow their own traditions should also be encouraged. Moreover, the diversity and coexistance could bring many educational benefits and help to increace tolerance towards the others.