As a result of tourism and increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problem?

In recent years, air travel has become increasingly popular among masses and classes due to the rapid growth of the tourism industry. This phenomenon results in massive demands for flights which has a negative impact on the environment. This essay will consider the problems of this issue and outline viable solutions. The growing demand for flights causes immense pollution to the environment and the major one is air pollution which is a huge problem in many countries around the world. The main reason is that aeroplanes run on fuel which releases carbon dioxide and other harmful gases. These chemical gases can cause faster growing sources of greenhouse gas emission which lead to global warming and the destruction of the ozone layer. To prove the damage of air travel, Airbus announced that the aviation industry is currently responsible for a considerable percentage of all global CO2 emissions. In addition, these pollutants also cause several diseases to humans such as lung diseases or cancer. According to “ The World Count '', there are around 9 millions of people who die of air pollution per year and this number is on the verge of increasing. Another problem is sound pollution which causes disturbance to residents living near airports and damages for their ears. Therefore, many staffs have to wear noise-cancelling headphones while working near planes to avoid suffering from hearing-loss. To tackle these problems, many measures should be taken into account. Firstly, on the governmental side, the government should promote the utilization of environmentally friendly sources of energy such as solar energy or wind energy. Should people no longer use fuel, the air will become remarkably fresher due to the reduction of emission from aeroplanes. Moreover, the government should tax the flights or increase the price of tickets to divert citizens toward other affordable means of transport. For instance, in some developing countries, residents prefer travelling by bus or coach rather than paying a double amount of money to pursue an airline ticket. Secondly, on the personal side, citizens need to utilize public transport to travel so that the number of people taking domestic flights may decrease significantly. Take Japan for example, most Japanese people usually travel by rail transport because their country has a large number of subway systems which are highly efficient and run with extreme punctuality. In conclusion, environmental degradation caused by air travel is a matter of concern and needs both individuals and authorities to join hands to resolve these problems. In the future, there may be more and more efficient solutions to save the environment and also people ’s physical and mental wellbeing.