People do not have such a close relationship with their neighbours as they did in the past. Why is this so, and what can be done to improve contact between neighbours?

Seeing neighbours chatting in the walkway or children playing together in the street was a daily image a few years ago. Nowadays, due to security fears along with more people renting houses for short term, that situation is no longer common in most of the cities. Several actions can be taken from both local councils and individuals to reverse the situation and encourage bonding among the community. There are two main reasons why citizens are more isoleted from the rest of the neighbourhood these days. Firstly, crime rates have experienced a significant increase during the last two decades, promoting a sense of fear among the population. Therefore, parents are less likely to let children play in the streets or spend too much time talking with people in the front garden. Secondly, buying a property has become a real challenge even for middle-class sectors. As a consequence, people have often no choice but jump from one renting to the other, leading to less stable local communities. If the neighbours are constantly rotating it is harder for people to build relationships between each other. Some strategies might be possible to follow in order to attend this issue. To begin with, city counciles are responsible for the local community wellbieng and therefore it is their responsibility to promote bonding between neighbours. For example, organizing events for children in a local park could be a way of getting the community back together. However, any effort from the government is pointless if individuals do not play their part. If security is a big concern in the area, organizing group chats to report any suspicious movement might be a way of getting to know each other as well as keeping the neighbourhood safe. In conclusion, there is no doubt that local communities are more isolated now than it used to happen a few years ago. Bonding between neighbours is good for the community wellbeing and should be encourage by local authorities. However, the main intrest should come from the individuals as they could certainly benefit from having a close-knit community.