The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last twenty years. many of the problems young people now experience such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

Women’s empowerment has been at the forefront of policies over the last few decades; therefore, women enjoy more freedom in workplaces and elsewhere than in the past. Although mothers’ lack of parenting has generated considerable debate, it is my firm belief that youth crime stems primarily from socioeconomic factors and ineffective law enforcement. One way to address lawlessness among young people is to recognise that unemployment affects crime rates far more than parental involvement. Poverty is a direct consequence of limited job opportunities. If more people had jobs that meet their needs, teenage misconduct rates could decrease, as young people would not need to engage in criminal activities to meet basic necessities, in turn lowering income inequality. Countries such as the UAE and Saudi Arabia are quintessential examples of crime reduction through job creation. Data shows that incidents of law-breaking among young citizens decreased by over 43% following the 2010s job creation wave, which generated over 500,000 jobs in both nations combined. Hence, there is a clear link between employment and lower crime rates. Not only have certain governments failed to provide sufficient support to at-risk young populations, but they have also been unable to keep recidivism at bay through appropriate sentencing. While some argue that underage offenders’ parents should be held responsible, evidence shows that a lack of effective crime prevention frameworks and infrastructure contributes more to offences than poor parenting. For example, nations such as India, where a large number of mothers are housewives, have some of the highest rates of violent crimes committed by young and repeat offenders. In contrast, Norway combines high female employment with support systems, educational programs, and effective policing policies for potential offenders. These measures have made it one of the safest countries in the world while also leading in women’s employment rates. In conclusion, while mothers’ involvement is crucial in a child’s upbringing, it is primarily the responsibility of elected officials and policymakers to create better living conditions for young men and women. As has been proven, women’s empowerment is not the cause of juvenile delinquency; rather, the problem lies in the lack of adequate support systems.