Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than public transportation systems. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed that allocating more funds to roadway infrastructure is better than on the public transport systems. In my point of view, both of them play important roles in facilities, therefore should be invested equally. On the one hand, I agree that investing in route systems is essential in ameliorating road safety and reducing traffic congestion. Firstly, in many countries with inadequate traffic infrastructure such as rough ways filled by potholes, plumbers on the pavements tend to have a higher number of unfortunate accidents. In order to overcome this condition, money should be spent on maintaining road quality. Moreover, extending roads and motorways in centre areas such as Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh city, where there is a vast density of automobiles, will help to increase the spaces for more kinds of transportation at the same time. Therefore, it might be useful in reducing congestion during peak hours. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that public transit is beneficial not only to residents but also to the environment. It can be explained that public transportation such as buses, subways emit less exhaust emission than other private vehicles which have captivity for a number of people. Hence, it plays a vital role in reducing air pollution. Additionally, citizens who do not have cars or motorbikes will have more choices for the commuting process. It also is an economical way for them rather than grabbing a taxi every day. In conclusion, It is difficult to deny spending money on roadway systems, but public transportation deserves more attention from the governments.