Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this state-of-the-art era, the development of technology can be useful and harmful, connecting and dividing. Such a phenomenon has caused some children to spend most of their time in front of their gadgets. In this essay, I will elaborate on the possible causes of this case and show how this leads to a negative development. The children's habit of spending long hours using smartphones can be attributed to several key factors. Firstly, because of the digital thriving, phones have already served as a fantasy world for children. This is due to the fact that gadgets offer myriad entertainment packed into one device, such as video games and social media. Secondly, parents commonly let their children use gadgets without any restrictions, thereby letting them become addicted. working parents, for example, often give their offspring smartphones and do not warn them about the time limit, causing them to play their phones continuously. However, this kind of trend can result in some problems which affect children's social and health aspects. Regarding the social effect, technology has reduced offspring's opportunities to socialize with their surroundings, confining them in the virtual world and eventually becoming less sociable. There have been many notorious cases in Indonesia, for instance, in which children cannot interact with their friends or even their parents properly because of their limited social experiences. More importantly, spending hours in front of smartphones can cause a devastating consequence, such as reducing the level of fitness due to less movement. In conclusion, cutting-edge technology has offered offspring numerous entertainment features on their smartphones, encouraging them to play for a long time. Yet, this phenomenon might have a detrimental effect on children's social ability and overall health.