Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

Everyone should have the freedom to live in their natural habitat. So, many individuals think that having zoos is pointless and zoos should be closed. Therefore, it is worthwhile to discuss challenges with zoos and feasible alternatives to them. There are many issues associated with zoos. The major problem is, animals do not have sufficient freedom. Animals are much happier when they live in their habitats. Nonetheless, when animals are in a cage, they feel less comfortable and do not have enough room to move around. Although some people argue that it is suitable for them as they are secured from predators, these animals have natural abilities to protect themselves from other animals. For instance, even though many tigers are in the wild, there is no reduction in the deer population. Therefore, animal freedom is a significant factor to be considered. Furthermore, maintaining a zoo comes at a very high cost. As a result, authorities spend millions of dollars annually to keep these places. As the benefits of operating a zoo do not outweigh operational costs, it is a burden to its economy. Since zoos have some advantages, such as helping people to learn about animal’s behaviour, protecting endangered species, there should be some alternatives to them. A good case in point is having a largely conservative area so that animals have more than enough space to move freely. When different animals are in a large area, they will feel that they are in their original habitats, and consequently, they will adapt to the new environment. Nonetheless, when students want to learn about animals, they can study through documentaries and books made for animals as they have analyzed animal’s behaviour. In conclusion, as modern-day zoos are fruitless and bring many challenges, it is beneficial to shut their operation. Nevertheless, there should be useful alternatives to zoos to offset the negative effects of closing the existing ones.