In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In some parts of the world, young people prefer a more practical education, choosing to enroll in work-based training rather than getting a college degree. In my opinion, this alternative could lead to some benefits, although, it also has some downsides. Deciding to pursue a work-based training can lead to some advantages. Firstly, studying a career can help you to find a job quicker, since, through it, you gather experience, which is the most researched aspect by employers. Secondly, this situation prevents the extinction of some careers that are less practiced by college graduates since they usually have higher expectations and, therefore, pursue more important careers. For example, people with a degree tend to search for employment in big corporates, leaving some sectors without workers, such as farms. However, this decision also has some downsides. Firstly, choosing this path limits your prospects, since, to access higher-paying job positions, a college degree is required. Secondly, even if, with this decision, your chances of finding a job are higher, there could be still the possibility of remaining unemployed, especially if the career chosen has low demand of employees. One of those countries, where people prefer to enroll in work-based training rather than college, is Italy. There, at 14 years old you are given the possibility to choose between attending highschool or a profession's school, where they teach you the basics and prepare you for a specific position, such as an electrician or a mechanic. In conclusion, while having a more practical education can result in the preservation of some career paths, and easier employment, it could also limit your prospects