Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the globalization era, the ability to speak outside our mother language has become more crucial than ever. It could help us to connect and interact with people around the world. Thus, the earlier for us to learn this capability, the better the results. A question then rise whether or not it is necessary to teach this to the pupils in the elementary school. In this essay, I will cover both pros and cons of this question. Teaching a foreign language early will bring several advantages for the students. Firstly, kids in the primary period often learn something more effectively. For example, in research done by some experts, children under the age of ten will grasp and implement more skills with the same methods of learning if compared with more mature ones. Secondly, by giving these kids ahead of time, they will get more chances to practice. Thus, resulting in more fluent capability in the real life. The downside of letting this type of ability being practised early in their life is mainly around the confusion caused by it. For instance, the children who were allowed to practice foreign speaking will get confused when having conversations in their home or in their daily activities due to the complex thinking caused by the multi-linguistic brain. They tend to have difficulties expressing some words. In addition to that, they also tend to have a harder time giving full meaning sentences when speaking with other people without mixing the languages. In summary, giving chances for primary school pupils to learn foreign-speaking will give more advantages than the negative effects. The key to successful results is to let teachers and parents having collaborated with each other to give more impact and supervision to the children.