It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as South Pole. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in transportation technology have resulted in easier access to isolated places like the South Pole, but this has a knock-on effect on the environment with many environmentalists struggling to cope with the problem. Despite the drawbacks of thus development, there are some advantages as well. This essay outlines the perceived drawbacks and benefits of increased travel to remote places and explains why there are far more significant disadvantages. The biggest advantage of this problem is that scientists can make new discoveries about microbes and other species of animals and plants. The lack of proper transportation deters reasearchers from examining the various forms of life available in those places. For instance, in recent times a variety of new microorganisms and their characteristics have been discovered as opposed to the past. Such findings are crucial for the development of science. Thus the more accessibility to these places, the more growth in the different fields of biology. Despite this, however, the disadvantage of loss of biodiversity can not be overlooked. Whenever more and more people visit these locations, some areas have to be developed to provide accommodations for them. Any development requires some interference with nature which comes at the cost of it. For example, there may be a damage to the natural flora and fauna. Moreover, with more humans in an area, more resources would be required, resulting in the depletion of natural resources. The more popular these regions become, the more adverse effects it has on the environment. To conclude, the increase in travel to remote areas leads to advancements in science. Nevertheless, the fact that it can be detrimental to the environment can not be ignored. Therefore, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.