More and more people want to buy clothes, cars, and other items from famous brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

People ’s obsession with brands has increased more in recent times. The majority of people want to buy branded items such as clothes, cars, and other items to fulfill their desires. I believe it is a negative development for society as it could increase the financial burden and negatively affect our environment. Observing others owning luxury materialistic things can put negative pressure on those who cannot afford them. This means that middle-class and low-class individuals, who live in rented houses and only have a basic salary to buy basic items like food, clothing, and water, can develop desires to buy the same items that richer people can easily afford. As a result, this can easily put a financial burden on them, which could affect their overall health. For instance, my friend Atul, who works in a corporate office and earns only $2,000 per month, wishes to own a car worth $40,000 just because his colleague has bought one. Therefore, the race to own branded items by affluent folks negatively influences people with basic pay, resulting in financial debt and mental pressure if they fail to pay the asked price. On the other hand, the production of branded clothing and other items damages our environment. This is to say, the consumption of branded items leads to over-manufacture by companies for their consumers, which accumulates more waste in our environment as it doesn’t decompose easily. For example, the clothing brand H&M produces more than a million clothes a year for its customers, and not all products are bought by people. The remaining ones are often burned, which pollutes our environment. Therefore, greater use of branded items has a negative impact on our nature as well. In conclusion, the use of branded items definitely has a negative impact on both our health and the environment. Measures to effectively reduce their consumption and production should be implemented.