People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group that they belong to than any other factors. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

These days, shopping has become increasingly popular among people of all ages. Some people argue that the shopping preferences of a person are determined by their age. I do not agree with this as I think a person ’s ability to shop is ultimately determined by their financial status and not by the age factor. Rich people tend to shop more than poor people. This is not necessarily because their needs are greater; they buy more because they can afford it. In the same way, poor people cannot afford to shop frequently because their financial situation does not allow them to do so. Of course, some people borrow money to buy things, but they can not carry on this habit for long because there is a limit to the amount of credit a person can get.  As much as social status plays a role in shopping, peer pressure does too. A lot of people are influenced by their friends to buy something that they do not necessarily need. For example, if there is a new video game in shops and your child’s best friend has it, your child might throw a tantrum saying he wants it.  The age of a person might also influence their shopping habits. Impulsive shopping, for example, is more common among youngsters. They often follow ads by their favourite celebrities and buy things that they may or may not need. They are also more likely to invest in clothing according to the latest trends, latest gadgets and new personal care products. Even so, not every youngster spends in the same way. Young people coming from rich family backgrounds certainly spend more than the people who come from moderate and poor family backgrounds.  The important factor that could influence the shopping habits of people is their values and beliefs. People who believe in simple living are unlikely to avoid spending too much even if they can afford it. In conclusion, the financial situation of a person and peer pressure are the factors that contribute to shopping habits.