Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

People have different views about whether zoos should be closed due to cruelty or remain to save endangered species. While I believe that zoos have advantages to rare animals, and I would like to discuss both of views as below. On the one hand, some people highlighted those wild animals are born to live free, and it is unnatural and intrinsically cruel to keep them in captivity in zoos. As a result, extensive ranges of animals are suffering from mental illness in zoos. A research conducted by a animals rights group of more than 80 zoos nationwide suggested that those animals that kept in captivity in zoos which are 100 times smaller than the minimum home range in their natural habitat are more likely to suffer from abnormal and self-destructive behaviours - for example, pacing, walking in tight circle than those who can rove freely in their natural habitats. On the other hand, zoos have provided safe habitats, well-trained zookeepers, and a nurturing environment for taking care of those endangered species that struggling in the wild for many years. Furthermore, those creatures can be encouraged to reproduce with professional medical care in a safe surrounding. A good example would be panda, an adorable creature who is the significant animal in China that almost people from worldwide love. In my opinion, this case could prove that zoos are working to protect the rare animals from extinction. In conclusion, I do agree that zoos ' management needs to be improved in terms of animals ' welfare, while I still believe that zoos are necessary for wild animals.