Governments should spend more money on medical research and less on researching the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The notion of prioritising funding for medicine over environmental studies has become progressively contentious. In my opinion, whilst environmental research is one way to dig in regarding climate heating, more money should be directed towards medical research. The most frequently cited rationale for learning about the environmental aspects is the need to understand the effects of climate change. As we all know, there is no greater threat to the future of human civilisation than a degrading natural world. This can be most apparently seen in billions of dollars being poured into studies to analyse how fast the polar ice caps are melting and what the pernicious impact on the ecosystem will be. Research grants can be utilised to give climate scientists free rein to study and importantly seek out the best reform to the worsening environment. The accumulated evidence has reasoned why allocating more funds towards researching the environment is convincing. Albeit conceding the presented merits of environmental studies, I would still contend that health is a more pressing concern. This argument rests on the fact that medical research is unequivocally positive, unlike climate studies which are often misleading and unclear. One of the salient illustrations of this is often reported in myriad advances in health over the several decades including increased understanding of mental illness, fewer procedures for surgery, and better vaccines, which have all been put into practice. Furthermore, more money allocation can open up possibilities for new medical innovations involving genetic modification and greater comprehension of disease prevention. Therefore, the government raising subsidies for this field confers a valid standpoint as we have witnessed the clear and tangible impact on the overall health of the general populace. In conclusion, the value of environmental research cannot outweigh that of medicine as this does wonder for one's health. In my final thought, governors and health regulators should propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance between environmental and medical studies but prioritise the latter.