Alternative energy sources that use the natural power of the wind, waves and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace the coal, oil and gas that we use to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, it is clear how the global technological and economic growth can no longer occur at expense of our environment. Few would debate that, while industries and transport still rely on traditional energy sources, like carbon fossil, newer forms of energy are required to guarantee a longer and more sustainable development. In this essay, I will review energy sources, while explaining why alternative forms must replace the traditional ones. First and foremost, still too many countries depend completely on coal and gas to supply their industrial sector. This kind of approach, despite being easier on in the short term, given it doesn’t require further research and relies on solidified methods, depends on a very limited amount of sources, represented by carbon fossil storages. Recent studies revealed that more than 80% of the global carbon fossil has already been consumed and, by the end of 2050, all the storage known will be exhausted to provide for the global needs. Similarly, traffic and transport are made up for the 90% by gasoline engines and, despite the newer technologies available, this non-renewable approach will lead to the total consumption of oil resources alongside contributing to the global pollution through fumes emissions. Therefore, it is clear that sticking with the older and simpler approach to energy policies will not only lead to a catastrophe from an environmental standpoint but will also inevitably lead to its own destruction once the global resources are completely consumed. In this setting, several scientists, funded by ethical societies and companies, are paving the way for the development of newer environmentally friendly energy forms. There is no doubt that this approach will be more expensive and laborious at the very beginning. In fact, renewable energy implants, like fields full of solar panels or wind turbines plants, require a lot of expenses both for their building and manutention. Furthermore, the efficiency of these stations is still far from the desirable levels, since more advanced systems are still under development, as it happens for every new technology. Despite these initial limitations that may be felt like a downfall by many leaders and cabinets, investing in renewable energies like wind and wave turbines, solar panels, or hydroelectric dams, represents the only way to guarantee a continuous supply of energy for the generations to come. Interestingly, some cities have already based their energetic requirements on renewable forms. Recently, in London 80% of the houses’ heating energy has been produced from solar panels installed in North Greenwich, this represents a clear example of intelligent, environmentally friendly policy. To conclude, in this period of continuous changes and technological improvements, energy production must inevitably evolve and adapt to our planet’s needs and resources, that ought not to be further exhausted. Even though many nations still base their industrial production and transport on carbon fossil, the question on of how this technologic revolution should be sustained remains. In this essay, I explained why switching the energy sources from a classic style, based on carbon, gas, and oils, towards a more modern, sustainable, and eco-friendly one is a necessity that should not be debated.