Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is true that children should not be forced to study another language. While I believe that children should be encouraged to learn a foreign language, I disagree completely that schools force their pupils to do so. On the one hand, there are several reasons why students should learn another language. Firstly, through learning another language, students can know about the culture of the country. Thus, they can immerse themselves in the culture of that country whose language they are learning. Secondly, pupils can access information in another language. For example, pupils can enjoy websites or books which only available in English. On the other hand, schools should not force their children to learn a new language. A first reason is that children can not learn efficiently under compulsion. Thus, enthusiastic teachers should select stimulating teaching activities. Another reason is that children will not be motivated to study if they do not see why this language may be relevant to their present or future lives. For instance, if pupils are certain that they do not use English in the future, they should not be forced to learn English. In conclusion, students should be encouraged, but not be forced, to study another language.