One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the advanced development of science and medicine lets to identify diseases and start therapy sooner that leads to people living longer. In this essay, I will explore the advantages and disadvantages of this tendency. There are several disadvantages to this situation. Firstly, the pension fund could be under pressure due to the necessity of paying pension to an increased number of people. If elderly people don’t work they get a pension but they don’t contribute to the pension funds. Secondly, older people are likely to suffer from health issues. That means society has to pay for medical treatment as well as medicaments. It is likely that the current government’s expenses for medical care of older people higher than before due to a larger part of elderly people in the population as a whole. Fortunately, increased life expectancy has also advantages that can overweigh described above negatives. First of all, longevity lets people have large families. When grandparents spend more time with their grandchildren, this helps elderly people be engaged socially and feel their usefulness. At the same time, these children grow up healthier both physically and mentally due to the contact with grandparents who love them. Moreover, increased life expectancy has a positive impact on economics in case when elderly people keep working. In general, when elderly people have a healthy lifestyle they work despite their retirement. It means that they continue paying taxes to a country budget that positively influences the community as a whole. In conclusion, while the fact that people are living longer has negative aspects such as increased burden on pension fund and society’s budget, nevertheless, people can get clear benefits if they are in contact with their parents and grandparents. Families with multiple generations are happier and they are able to value and love each other. These positives are more important than negatives.