Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make a people recycle more of their waste?

There are a myriad of ways in which the waste is produced which causes a lot of issues. To tackle this issue, the waste produced must be recycled. Some folks believe that enough waste produced from homes is not being recycled and intervention of government is required by making it a legal requirement. I firmly believe that this is absolutely needed in making people recycle more of their waste. To begin with, not everyone will act willingly unless and until it is required. There has to be some sort of external pressure applied so that a person gets habituated to follow the recycling process. The government should impose fines on those who are not recycling a certain amount of waste. This fine will act as external pressure and people once they get habituated don't feel that it is a duty. Furthermore, benefits must be provided by the government. For instance, if a person gets benefits as a part of a scheme that says if a certain amount of waste is recycled then money will be deposited in their accounts then people will automatically follow the orders. Conversely, there are other ways that can perform well to a certain extent. Providing awareness among the folks about the consequences that waste can lead to, like water pollution, air pollution. The awareness can be done either through traditional means or by modern tech like social media, TVs. Additionally, Environmental studies must be stressed during schooling. If the children are taught about this at a tender age, they will develop a sense to do what is necessary. For instance, an illiterate person will spits on the roads, litters the surroundings, whereas a person who is literate will not do all these negative things. To sum up, the government must take the things into their hands to make things happen as they should be either by passing laws that are fines or benefits or even awareness programs.