In some countries, small town-center shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In many nations, people have a tendency to shop in stores located in the outskirts instead of in small-sized ones in the city centre. Therefore, the number of cars is increasing. Although the advantages of this trend are varied, in my opinion, the disadvantages are much more significant. On the one hand, it is true that the popularity of the large out-of-town stores can be beneficial in some aspects. First of all, there is no doubt that these larger stores may have cheaper operating costs when being established far from the city, so this leads to more affordable prices for customers who purchase items there. Secondly, this can boost the economy of these areas and mitigate the dense population in cities. Since the lives in out-of-town regions become more modern and convenient with available services such as stores, more city dwellers will be encouraged to relocate to these places. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that there are more drawbacks when people prefer to buy at large stores in the outskirts. To be more specific, it will cost a lot of money for refuelling cars and time to travel all the way to the outskirts, which causes some unexpected inconveniences as well as makes people feel exhausted after arriving at these stores. Additionally, a long journey can contribute to a significant number of greenhouse gases. In other words, the relocation of stores to the out-of-town area indirectly exacerbates environmental problems, especially air pollution through an increasing carbon footprint. In conclusion, despite the advantages in terms of allowing customers to get cheaper prices and boosting the economy in the outskirts, I completely believe that the advantages are surpassed by the disadvantages such as threats to environmental problems and a waste of time and money for fuel.