Some people believe that progress is always good. Others believe in preserving tradition. Which do you think is more important and why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In this 21st century, there is a stride at an extensive scale and a segment of society supports this change. While others reckon in retaining old customs. Personally, I favour the former view with some reservations. Firstly, the advancement in most of the aspects is considered to be positive, owing to fact that it brings the latest ideas and changes which are beneficial for mankind. In other words, the development in certain sectors such as the medical sector, defence, corporate and science areas proves to be a boon for the human race. Indeed, in the field of medicine and research due to up-gradation there is a cure of fatal diseases eventually, causes a surge in life expectancy rate such as Covid-19 treatment is possible with the assistance of fast-paced research. Due to this vaccine is formed, which helps in the prevention of the illness. Thus, in umpteen,ways progress has a myriad of advantages. Adding further, the rituals of society which are turmoil for individuals has been eradicated. Not only this, there are several other customs which have been lost and brings positive changes in humans lives, especially in the case of the women’s such as remarriage of widows, end of sati practice and so on. On the contrary, there is a downside of this as it puts several languages and cultures in jeopardy. Ergo, most of them are on verge of extinction and the nation’s which are initially acknowledged for their customs and rituals have lost uniqueness due to globalization. To illustrate, in the past younger ones touches the feet of elders in the morning every day, but this practice has been declined to a greater extent nowadays. Hence, for,females progress is a blessing in enormous aspects. In compendium, I reiterate that progress is a long term process and is beneficial for humans. Although, it comes at a cost of vanishing certain social values.