In many countries, more and more young people leave rural areas to study or work in cities. Why is this the case? Is this a good or bad thing?

Youths tend to immigrate from rural areas to urban areas more and more. This is because there is more prosperities in the cities such as education, jobs, economic and lifestyle. In my opinion, this is not quite a good thing, and the following examples will be provided to support my point of view. Big cities in many countries around the world have more facilities than rural areas which would give a better life to teenagers. Especially in terms of education there are better quality schools or universities which lead to getting a high salary job and professional career in the future. Furthermore, there are more facilities such as transportation, shopping malls which make people’s lives easier and more convenient. For example, 80% of teenagers in rural areas in Thailand who had graduated high school go to continue to study at university in Capital city, Bangkok due to the top three universities of the country located in Bangkok. Moreover, most of them tend to find a job in Bangkok after graduating, the reason is that there are more chances to grow up in their career pathway and have various options. In my opinion, this is not quite a good thing because it will have an impact on many things. The most important thing is the socio economic imbalance between urban and rural areas. In rural areas there will be a lack of labor to do agriculture and also the elderly people will be left to live alone. For instance, according to the latest survey conducted by Bangkok University, it revealed that 80% of youth or young adults have been living in Bangkok or industrial cities for studying and working, which makes economic growth and persuades people to live more and more. Therefore, this tends to be a bad thing due to congestion in only big cities, then increasing the cost of living and not enough accommodation will be the result of this problem. Thus, the government should tackle this problem as soon as possible by distributing the jobs to rural areas and improving the quality of education to be the same in all countries. Many countries around the world are currently faced with the immigration of teenagers and young adults from rural to urban areas which have many bad consequences, in my opinion. Therefore, the government should tackle this problem as soon as possible.