Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Railways are the one option to tackle traffic congestion in big cities around the world. Therefore, governments should allocate a budget for building the railways rather than roads. I agree with this statement, and the following examples will be provided in order to support my point of view. One of the most important reasons why governments should spend money to build railways rather than roads is that railways could be more efficient supporting increased demand since populations tend to increase in many countries. For example, according to a survey conducted by Bangkok University, it revealed that the population has been slightly increasing over the last decade whereas the roads have been built more than 10 connected-ways around the country, which wasted more than 100 million baht. While the traffic jam still exists. Another reason to support this is the fact that building railways would be less natural degradation than building roads. This is because there is less deforestation for building railways. To illustrate this, in recent news, it has been reported that 80% of forest areas in Nakhon Nayok have been changed to be roads, whereas 20% of forest areas have been used to build railways at the same distance. This shows the fact that railways less destroy nature. In conclusion, both railways and roads are useful to people, therefore the way to choose the better one should consider many factors which suit the individual geographic of each country. This will be well worth the money which the government should spend.