In some countries, government are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

With the widespread urbanization, some nations have seen significant progress in factories, businesses and various industries being set up within the large cities. However, the government is suggesting they relocate to the outskirts of the cities. By doing so, there are a lot of merits for the development of companies, organizations and metropolitan as well, however, some demerits can arise if the decision is not addressed properly. This essay will consider the benefits and setbacks if companies act on the advice given by the authority. There are some notable advantages if industries base themselves outside the city. Firstly, this gives big cities a chance to expand and transform their territory and hence become even larger, financially as well as geographically. Secondly, the pollution from manufacturing factories, is less likely to affect the residents of the cities, therefore, it will be safer to reside in such areas. For example, In Vadodara, ONGC, which is an oil and natural gas company that emits a lot of carbon monoxide, which could be detrimental to health. It has recently set up its plant outside the city area, due to which the pollution has drastically reduced in the city as well as the area under Vadodara district has increased, since, slowly a significant proportion of people joined the company and started living nearby and thus increasing the probability of expansion of the city. However, one of the major disadvantages of the idea to move plants and offices outside of the city would be the land acquisition, due to which agriculture and farming are significantly affected. For instance, In Banglore, most of the car manufacturing companies, such as Ford, Mercedes-Benz, Audi etc. have started to buy land from farmers and construct their facilities, because of which there is a shortage of farmers and land to cultivate crops and thus contribute to farmers suicide and protests regularly. All in all, even though there are great opportunities for people, businesses and organizations to go out of the metropolitan areas, it should not be adopted at the cost of rural populations source of income, i.e agriculture and farming. Hence, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages if the government considers the demerits.