Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For decades, investments are always been a great equation for governments. Some people believe that arts should get more attention like any other community service. I personally disagree with this opinion, below ideas are reasons. Firstly, for poor countries, it is more important to put money into physical services that help to build up the economy and the citizens’ life quality. For example, authorities invest in the bus service could improve public transportation. Therefore, the pollution could be eased, so does the medical care could be better. While people still cannot access public libraries, and they have to pay expensive school fees, it is such a waste of resources to set up art performances. Secondly, art activities such as music concerts, or painting exhibitions could be a treatment to relieve stress, improve human’s mental health, but it is not the only way. Heads of the country should consider which is the best solution for their people. Sports fields, picnic areas are other cheaper choices to get relaxation after a long day of work.  In conclusion, I believe that the government should give public services as the priority to develop the base of the community. There is no healthy mind in a sick body. Governments should invest more in public services such as medical benefits for the locals more than the arts.