Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

These days, water pollution is becoming a serious problem for people who concern about environmental issues. There are several roots that lead to this problem. In this essay, I will explain some possible causes and effects on our societies. Pollution of water stems from various factors. One of the main causes is that the expansion of cities. To explain, many countries around the world are now facing the overpopulation problem. A great number of accommodations and factories are needed in order to serve increasing people. This means the amount of garbage and toxic waste are likely to rise. Some of these might contaminate the rivers or lakes. A good example is the Jao Praya River in Thailand that the amount of debris is floating over the river. Another main cause is that governments do not play an important role in this situation. Even governments in some countries implement a law that aims to preserve water resources, they do not seriously punish disobey people or factories. Therefore, they still put waste into the water. Water pollution has numerous negative effects on the ecosystem. First of all, contaminated water might harm the human body. Many medical studies show that 70 per cent of water from contaminated rivers consists of harmful bacteria and tiny species which can seriously affect our brain and body cells. Moreover, it might put some animals a risk of extinction. This is because animals need water for consumption, living and also reproduction. If fresh water is not able for animals, they can be endangered. In conclusion, enlarging of urban areas and inefficient laws are the main roots of water pollution. It might bring about danger to both humans and animals. I suggest that people should have more awareness of this issue.