The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Its is being discussed the impacts that the internet, more specifically, social media, has in the way that we communicate nowadays. Although some argue that this new way of communicating has a favourable outcome, others believe that it had a negative impact in our society. On one hand it its possible to argue that social media and the internet allow for more people to be connected, by making possible that we stay in touch with individuals that otherwise we would not. Therefore, in this sense, social media is bringing people closer together, facilitating communication and, as a consequence, resulting in a positive development for society. For example, as a social media participant, I am connected with people who I grew up with or who studied with me and do not live in Brazil anymore. I can find an old friends by searching for them in a social media, which would otherwise be very difficult. On the other hand, it is also possible to sustain that being in contact with people through social media is too artificial and that we are not connected at all, on the contrary, we are just learning facts about the others. For example, you could learn from a post that someone else got married or had a child. Probably you would have received that information without internet. However, just knowing that information do not you bring you closer to that person. You still do not know his/her feelings, real situation and so on. In my experience, I rarely talk or write to my friends in social media. To conclude, in my view, social media has to be used with caution as it may has more that positive effect. I do believe that internet and social media are only creating a false sense of connection and creating negative consequences for the society.