As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

Nowadays, people more and more move to live to separately or smaller groups, instead of living all together in one single house. This essay first suggests that the reason for this trend is the improvement of a country's economy. One can argue that of the reasons for this scenario is probably the cost of housing, which is knowingly higher in big cities. In the past, a large part of the society lived in the countryside, mainly dedicated to agriculture. Nevertheless, with the industrial revolution, a growing migration movement started as people need to be closer to where the industries were located. As a result, as houses were more expansive, they began to be smaller and without space to accommodate the entire family. As a result of such a change in pattern, people nowadays spend less time with their relatives, especially old ones. When families used to live together the sons and daughter used to take care of the parents themselves. But that is not a reality anymore in a vast majority of the cases, thus creating an important social problem for the states that sometimes need to care for the elderly, by delivering food daily, maintaining infrastructure to ensure that those individuals receive the assistance they need. For example, in France, the government goes to their home every day to deliver goods and check their health. To conclude, the development of a country brings many impacts, among them, it changes the way its population live. Industrialization was responsible for the exodus from rural areas to industrialized parts, which resulted in smaller and more expensive places to live.