Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is being argued that because people are spending more time using mobile phones and computers, they are forgeting how to interact in a face to face situation. I disagree with this opinion as I believe that the interaction through the Internet does not change significantly our communication skills. It is a fact that the use of the Internet, since its invention, is growning substantially. This technology is improving constantly, in an amazing rate, making the access easier and cheaper every day. Nowadays, there is a huge variety of equipment allowing consumers to choose from a cheaper model to a very expensive one. For example, when mobile phones were launched in Brazil, there was a waiting list to get one and the price was almost the same as a car. Further, the telecommunication providers charged a very high fee. That also changed and connection costs are more accesible. An illustration of that is the possibility to buy one month Internet acess for around ten US dollars. As people had more access they increased the time they spend navegating online. However, spending more time connected does not mean necessarily that people are not allocating time to meet their friends and relatives. For example, the time used on mobile phones and computers could in the past have being Change the form of the verb been show examples used for reading newspapers, books in paper or playing games. Actually, the Internet makes possible for us to communitate with people that live far from us, thus creating more possibily possibly for interactions. Finally, communications on line requires almost the same set of skills as face to face. To conclude, the increase in the usage of online equipment does give new options for spending time but it does not have a negative impact on relationships.