One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Individuals are living longer, and their life span has risen as a result of better care being provided by health centres. In my perspective, I believe that having a longer life brings about more benefits for the family compared to any detrimental effect it might have. Admittedly, there are some issues involved when lifespan is increased. Firstly, it is perceived that elderly individuals eat taxpayers’ money. In other words, governments have to give them monthly welfare perks as part of retirement. But it is not true in all the cases, age-old population are often seen working part-time to keep themselves occupied which results in a contribution to nation’s economy. Moreover, the administration has to pay for their well-being when they are sick which cost dearly. However, those who raise such concern often overlook the fact that it is their taxes that they have paid that are now being given in the form of assistance. Nevertheless, despite the minor issues outlined above, the services that the elderly provide are extremely worthwhile. They provide mentoring to their grandchildren which consequently means another set of eyes on the upbringing of children. These days due to fierce competition and busy schedules most parents are not able to spend enough time with their young ones and grandparents would help fill that void. Without such care, children are mostly seen distracted both from educational, cultural perspectives and lack skills on how to conduct themselves in society; therefore, elderly people play a vital role in the overall wellbeing of a family. In conclusion, although there are minor issues when people live longer, those trivial concerns are overshadowed by the numerous returns they bring to the overall family.