It is quite right that top sports people should be paid a lot of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

High-performance athletes are most of the time among the highest-paid people. It is believed that they deserve to earn way above the average. This essay will discuss the facts that I believe these professionals are overpaid. These sportists make more money than they can even spend in a lifetime. Every new contract that they sign, their salary is usually increased, as well as the benefits are also increased, normally based on their development. For example, a talented soccer player begins to have a high salary since he or she is still young, mostly still around the sixteen years old, age that they can sign their first professional contract. This first signed agreement is usually valid for a short period of time, aiming to have a huge increase on the salary as soon as the time for contract renewal comes. Furthermore, if the player scores a high number of goals, probably he or she will get a bonus. On the other hand, they are suffering a high pressure to succeed. Generally, these players are pushed to the top, and if they do not deliver what it is expected from them, for example, scoring a high quantity of goals, either the team supporters and the media will get against him or her. These facts are used as an excuse to justify the overpaid salaries. In conclusion, despite the high pressure the high-performance sportists suffer, I strongly believe that the wages they make are much higher than should be.