You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is well known that throughout the last ten years, there was a surge in the usage of planes. In my opinion, the main causes of this are the speed of travel by a plane and its safety. However, travelling by plane can still be expensive. I believe, that it is a positive tendency because it demonstrates a development of society overall. Firstly, in the past individuals had to use trains that were far slower than modern planes. These trips could take a few days or even weeks. In contrast, presently a person doesn't need to spend so much time. For instance, a trip from the USA to Japan by ship lasted weeks but nowadays the public spends just under a day. Furthermore, planes are considerably safer than other means of transportation. Although taking off may be a terrifying experience, scientists state that there is no danger compared to cars. Admittedly, individuals in developing countries often are not able to afford such trips and prefer simple cars and trains. People have made a great jump from simple wheels and moving by horses to huge machines. A plane is an incredible example of progress. In the past society couldn't imagine that a person would be able to move from opposite region of the Earth to another in a day. To conclude, air travel is becoming more and more popular, due to its convenience, although presently such travel is not affordable for some individuals. Moreover, I think that it is a good example of people's advancement.