Climate change is the biggest threat to life on our planet. How accurate is this statement? Are there any other big threats to mankind?

It is claimed that global warming is the chief threat to human civilization. This essay does not agree with this statement because people can find technological solutions to this problem. However, another graver threat is nuclear weapons, as this cannot be so easily solved. Some would argue that the increase in the planet’s average temperature will lead to catastrophe on a global scale; however, the technology already exists to stem this threat. Solar power, combined with electric vehicles, will remove the need for fossil-fueled power stations and transportation. The result will be a massive reduction in the release of greenhouse gases into the earth’s atmosphere, which is the principal cause of global warming. For example, Tesla Motors produces excellent cars that have zero CO2 emissions, and its sister company, Solar City, allows people to produce their electricity using innovative photovoltaic roof tiles and Powerwall battery packs. A much more significant danger is that of a thermo-nuclear war. It would only take one blunder or the outbreak of a major conflict between nuclear states to wipe out every living thing on earth. This would be caused by the explosions and the ensuing nuclear winter, which would wipe out all plant life and poison the air and oceans. For instance, the United States of America alone has enough nuclear warheads to wipe out every man, woman, and child on earth with its arsenal, and the Cuban Missile Crisis in the 1960s demonstrated how close it is to come to global nuclear war. In conclusion, climate change is not the gravest peril the earth faces because we have the technological capability to solve it, and the threat from nuclear arms is much more significant.